Some believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people contend that the ultimate motivator of buying a product is not an advertisement but rather it is inquiries of consumers. I am in full disagreement with this opinion and believe that adverts play a huge role in buying decisions. From the perspective of some, products are mainly purchased based on necessity. This stems from our nature as animals where in order to survive freezing winters, humans would strive to save food in any way possible. Scientists are now suggesting that this past habit has been part of mankind’s characteristics. Therefore, based on this attribute, customers are unwilling to spend lavishly. The strongest evidence for this comes from the shelves of shopping centres where essential household items like eggs, bread and milk, are sold out easily without any effort by salesmen to promote them. Our instinct keeps us from spending on things we see no immediate purpose in. I, however, feel that advertisement is an essential part of customers’ mindset. They generate a sense of desire and urgency which can influence shoppers’ decisions. These ads oftentimes push beyond the needs of consumers and consequently force them to spend more on decorative products. By the way of example, smartphone companies premier commercials for their flagship products every year and subsequently, people always respond to them by substituting their old models for new ones providing the company with a substantial amount of profit whereas nothing is really altered in terms of functionality between the two models. This is mostly due to the quality of their campaign in convincing their customers to have the new model. So, advertisement is crucial for corporations as without them, they would not be able to flourish their enterprise. We can also consider that commercials are to some level an illustration of a product’s quality. People tend to pay more attention to the popularity of the celebrities endorsing them or the creativity in their TV commercials and interpret them as a sign of their merchandise quality as well as the popularity of the enterprise. Pepsi Incorporation, for example, managed to lift its validation and sales figures by engaging in a campaign of brand awareness by appointing distinguished celebrities for endorsing its products and running excellent adverts. Ads provide signals for individuals suggesting if you like our adverts, it is a guarantee that you would like our product. In conclusion, It is true that some people are against the view that suggests the effects of advertisements on shopping decisions and insists that personal needs are the only motivator, yet as I have discussed above I am all for it.