In many countries, not enough students study science subjects. What are the causes? What will be the effect on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While in many countries there is a current trend to encourage students since primary school to pursue a career in science, in many other countries, specifically in those less developed, not enough people choose that pathway. I will explain my main reasons in regard to this last phenomenon. First of all, in less developed countries students can feel unmotivated to study STEM subjects. One of the main reasons for this is due to the lack of investment in advanced technologies in schools and colleges. For instance, some schools in my country had an old-fashioned device to track the growth of bacteria which produced incoherent results different from those in the textbook. Additionally, there is a common belief that sciences are too complicated to be learned. According to a recent survey, almost 75% of young Colombian students believe that math and natural sciences are the most difficult subjects in school. In consequence, effects like the gap between advanced and less developed countries will remain., Also problem-solving skills in the population from those countries will not evolve. For example, Colombia will never be able to challenge the manufacturing industry of computers and microchips from countries such as Japan. Furthermore, in critical situations like natural,disasters Colombia always needs advice and support from other countries technologies. In conclusion, due to a lack of investment in improvements in science tools and the myth that math and natural sciences are difficult to learn, some less developed countries will never have competitive tech companies and problem-solving skills to face critical situations.