In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

In this day and age, education has become more accessible to every age, especially children. In many countries, schools aim to provide a general-training course that goes through a wide range of subjects, while in other countries, the education system only focuses on subjects that are related to a specific career path. From my point of view, a general course could be more suitable for kids, as it would help a child’s development to be more well-rounded and greatly benefit their future careers. To begin with, a diversified course would help students attain knowledge in several aspects. In general courses, each subject is equally important and children have to put the same amount of effort into learning these subjects. This would help to broaden their horizon and enrich themselves with social, cultural as well as academic skills and knowledge. For example, history classes would provide kids with a chance to learn about the glorious past of their forefathers, while math and literature would strengthen their in-depth knowledge for future careers and higher education. Moreover, a well-rounded education system also helps children to make better job decisions and increase their chances to land a better job. With these courses, students are exposed to a vast range of subjects, thus they can identify the major they are interested in and do more research in this field, allowing them to decide on the right career path in the future. Last but not least, nowadays the labour market is highly competitive, and professional knowledge alone would not be enough to land a good job. For example, employers would prefer workers who not only have in-depth knowledge in the required fields but also are proficient in Excel and other Microsoft applications. In conclusion, a broad education system is more appropriate in our era, as it would provide students with a broad perspective, enabling them to decide on a suitable career path in the future.