Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, people have been debating if the younger generation should volunteer for community work as one of their extracurricular activities. In the present essay, I will express my opinion on the topic. I strongly agree with the statement as in one hand, I think it is benefitial for teenagers to have a full schedule and to add hobbies (meaning, anything a person does outside school hours where they do not earn money) to their free time. In fact, there are scientific studies that say that teens involved in a hobby are less likely to participate in risky or problematic behaviors in comparison to those who are not taking part in such activities. Volunteering also gives the opportunity of developing skills, like communication, teamwork, planning and organising, as the volunteers are focusing on something they chose and are able to meet new people. This is also good for the community, since organizations can be frugal while keeping their operations running. For example, if students volunteer to work at a thrift shop, the company can save more money out of the profit they make, and at the same time, the experience of working at the store will increase the teenagers' personal development while gaining job skills that will, most likely, open up employment opportunities. On the other hand, I have to point out that some people should not focus on community work, beside its' advantages. For example, if a student struggles with subjects at school, such as mathematics, and decides to feel his or her free time with volunteering instead of getting extra help with mathematic explanation classes, then it will have a negative effect on school success. In this case, academic accomplishment is more important that the benefits from community work. To conclude, although there are countless gainings for teenagers to do unpaid work, such as skill developing and promoting healthy behaviors while helping organizations' fundings, it must be emphasized that different individuals require different attention, meaning that community service should be added to the schedules of some students, but for others, activities such as support to study could be more important.