Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people are of the opinion that those who have turned their lives around are the greatest testament to the threat of engaging in unlawful activities to children. While I agree with the idea that reformed offenders will help students understand more about the consequences of crime, I believe that there are a host of better mentors for them. There is no doubt that teenagers are more likely to accept the guidance of ex-wrongdoers rather than their parents. From ex-prisoners,experiences youngsters can look at or learn to behave to avoid posing any threat to society and to their future life. Ex-offenders can tell young generations about how they became involved in crime, how dangerous criminal lifestyles were, and what their prison life was like. The shocking nature of these stories can act as a deterrent to those juvenile delinquents who are likely to be criminals. On the other hand, there are ample effective alternatives to inform adolescents about bad behaviours. One option could be inviting police officers to the school to give a lecture about what will happen if you attempt any criminal activities. The second option could be inviting successful people such as lawyers, doctors, or scientists to act as living evidence that if you are a law-abiding citizen and resilient in the face of adversities, you can still lead a happy and fulfilling life. Last but not least, teachers can be a reliable source of information to students by showing them educational documentaries, giving them an opportunity to ask questions about crime and laws. In conclusion, to reduce the crime rate both the government and schools need to take responsibility by educating the next generation of citizens about the payoff of committing a crime.