Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. Others disagree and believe it is a waste of school time. To what extent do you agree?

Recently, society has been debating whether it is beneficial for children to have meal preparation classes in school. In the present essay, I will express my opinion on the topic. Personally, I strongly agree with the statement. Given the current global financial situation, I am referring to the general inflation on prices, people must start thinking of ways to save money. Eating is a basic necessity and getting food from restaurants can be quite expensive, even more compared to making food at home. Thus, it is imperative that everyone knows how to cook. Not only this, but I can also point out that, for example, in the United States, 50% of the population is single, and a part of these percentage are people living alone. In this case, people only rely on themselves to prepare their meals. Even for couples, where both partners work, the task must be shared. For this to happen and to become part of the individuals’ routine, the learning should start at a young age. As mathematics or language studies are important, so are the practical subjects. Another reason is that the process of making meals has lots of steps that help children to learn faster, because they are applying their knowledge into familiar occupations. This can be translated into, for example, reading comprehension, while reading the cooking book, or how to calculate and do maths, when figuring out that ½ a cup is bigger than ¼ of a cup of sugar. To conclude, the benefits of learning how to cook are uncountable, both for the younger generation, while learning for the subjects, and for when they get older, and have to live by themselves. Knowing how to cook should begin as soon as possible, promoting independence, money saving, and learning integration.