Rates of diabetes and obesity are increasing in many countries around the world. Some people think that governments should ban soft drinks and sugary snacks from schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that prohibiting fast foods is a method to decrease the number of diabetic and obese patients. From my perspective, the merits of these policies overshadow the demerits because of the following reasons. On the one hand, the opponents of this law have their own rational grounds. First, office workers opt for junk foods in the wake of its convenience. To be specific, by ordering fast foods for lunch job-seekers can save cooking-time and utilise the lunch break to rest. In fact, employees in Vietnam only have an hour to take a nap, which is inadequate for them to prepare nutritious meals. Second, fast foods are ubiquitous and easily accessible. Historically, fast foods were luxurious and only a few citizens could afford them. These days, fast food outlets namely KFC and Lotteria appear around universities and offices at reasonable prices for consumers. On the other hand, the above arguments are inadequate to justify its merits. The most pertinent point is that it ensures healthy labour forces. In particular, when junk foods disappear, it is obligatory that civilians consume nutritious food, which supplies energy for a long day. In fact, numerous enterprises in Vietnam require their workers to eat more vegetables instead of fried food. Another justification is that it reduces the pressure on the medical system. Specifically, because it is a chronic disease, a variety of patients demand great support from doctors and hospitals. Hence, these policies will reduce the amount of work that doctors perform and allow them to take care of other patients. In conclusion, it is indisputable that junk foods endow consumers with their convenience and availability. Nonetheless, the legal bodies should prohibit the consumption of fast food in view of national development in the long run.