car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. how to do you think this statement is? what measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

There has been an incline in ownership of car which has become a necessity for people,especially the ones living in metropolitan cities, thus there has been a surge in four wheelers that has been owned by the population leading to traffic jams in most of the countries. I personally agree with this statement which would further be explained in the proceeding sections. To start with, a car today has become vital for any family as a normal family comprises one or two children, also a large majority of families living still joint families in many parts of the world, thus the need for a car becomes foremost. With more number of four vehicles being sold and people having the kind of purchase power, traffic jams have become a common part of people living in big cities such as Mumbai, Delhi which usually see long jams all day. Consequently, with the launch of a number of cars by car dealers of almost every range, travelling in a car has become cheaper and more affordable for a common man in today's scenario which further leads to people being stuck in long queues. Authorities can inculcate a number of measures towards the growing population to curb the use of cars. Firstly, pooling can be encouraged as a measure to diminish long jams as people travelling to a common direction or point can jump along and travel, which would further decrease the count of cars travelling especially during peak hours of the day. Secondly, the government could think of measures to stop the use of cars by encouraging policies which can prevent certain cars from entering the cities during peak hours of the day like long-route vehicles being stopped in many cities in India, or the Odd-Even policy that was introduced in the city of Delhi to control the use of cars and also to control pollution in the city. To conclude, the usage of car has significantly surged during the past couple of decades which is causing obstacles to control traffic jams as people do get stuck for a long time in jams, hence government should take proper measures to control the current scenario or else it could further be alarming for their country.