world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

It is undeniable that population is booming around the globe from the last few decades. Being so, people are buying more and more vehicles for various needs which create unnecessary traffic in the city. There are some significant reasons that why I think this statement is true. Firstly, owning a car not only status symbol but it is also a necessity for most people in many metropolitan cities. For example, the basic need such as commuting to the work, dropping children in the school, travelling to distinct places force people to purchase car to cop up with fast-paced life. Secondly, vehicles play a vital role in everyone’s life although it affects the traffic system of the big city like London. For instance, London is congested city with narrow roads and therefore, a greater number of cars leads a massive traffic jam all time during the peak hours. To curtail aforementioned issues, the government should adopt favourable strategies to demotivate people from keeping cars. First, government could develop a strong transportation facility with higher frequency and cheaper tickets so that people can easily rely on it for day-to-day travel and not buy a car. To cite an example, Amsterdam has the world best transportation facility and hence the majority of the people take advantage of it. Moreover, the city is completely free from the traffic issues. Finally, the fuel rates should be surged by the authority which I turn force people to utilize train. To conclude, using a car has been increasing over decades and a traffic jam problem in many cities although the appropriate measures are taken by the government can reduce these issues and can lead a congestion free environment for the citizens.