In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

In the last decade, the population of the United States has almost doubled, which raises a question about the habitat. To meet the housing demand of the growing population, builders have started to develop residential units in areas distant to cities all over the nation. Certain advocates believe that it is quite important to avoid using the countryside to build new dwelling units as it has its own benefits, whereas some folks consider doing otherwise. In my perspective, it is essential to protect our countryside and not convert it into crowded residential places. In the history of the nation, the countryside has played a vital role in allowing an environment to safely grow cultural values. Along with modernization, time has brought difficulties in finding peace for mankind to thrive without cultural rituals. For example, to enjoy leisure activities while establishing a connection with nature and its purity, one might want to go to visit farmhouses rather than city lights. Also, nowadays, with a growing population, protecting farms and countryside space has become a necessity to fulfil agricultural demands. On the other hand, if these places are utilized to build apartments and buildings, it would bring detrimental effects to the ecology and economy. For instance, developing buildings will reduce the number of crops getting harvested each year and increase the import from other countries for different types of goods and foods to meet the demand. This would reduce the overall GDP (Gross Domestic Produce) and the upcoming generation would face increasing taxes to balance the economy. Additionally, destroying farms and the countryside will bring an imbalance to our ecology as vegetation is a prominent aspect of it. To conclude, it is necessary to prosper the countryside areas without using them to build new houses. There are other alternative solutions that can be adapted to serve the purpose on both ends, while enriching the historical and cultural values of the countryside.