Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught , many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and , if so how ?

In this contemporary world, many school systems ensure that teachers give more importance to teaching English rather than local languages. But, if local languages are not taught they are likely to extinct in the near future. Thus, in my opinion, I do believe that everyone should learn English as it is a global language, whilst protecting local languages. First, this essay will discuss the reasons to learn English and then,how to conserve local languages. To begin with, English is the dominating language of many professional industries such as aviation, science and business. Hence, it is necessary for individuals to learn English as a second language if they are planning to apply for a job in the above-mentioned fields. For example, a pilot should be fluent in English as it provides a common platform to communicate with air traffic controllers in other countries when the plane needs to land. However,despite the enormous benefits of learning English, it is equally important to ensure the survival of local languages. One way of doing this is by teaching children about their ancestral tongue and how it represents their cultural identity. For an instance, Sri Lankan schools dedicate 2 whole periods a day to teaching Sinhala and later on provide exams to evaluate these children. Consequently, local languages can be preserved. In conclusion, it is important to learn English as it makes an individual employable and increases his job prospects. At the same time,it is necessary to protect local languages by teaching small children as they will carry it to future generations.