Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

It is certainly true that more and more people prefer to work for themselves and start their own new businesses. This phenomenon is mainly due to the stress people often struggle the office and the peer pressures they face in companies that they will have less when they work as self-employed. However, not all the effects of this phenomenon have been positive, although there are certainly some advantages. There are several drawbacks of self-employed. A common criticism of self-employed is that financial management skills are one of the concerns. This is because they often lack of knowledge of how to manage the budget. The taxing system is the most difficult one and needs professional intervention from lawyers to avoid illegal actions or management. The other negative aspect can be that more responsibilities can discourage self-employers too. They are supposed to take all responsibilities themselves in the absence of their bosses or superiors which will be a lot of work when some issue arises. In spite of these negative effects, however, being self-employed has brought important benefits as well. People tend to feel stress and pressure when they work with their colleagues in an office. In fact, the work environment is not always appropriate for employees to perform well. Meanwhile, one such advantage of running their own business is that they can use their own knowledge and skills without stress from others. Another positive effect is that people can feel more sense of accomplishment in their own effort. Computer literacy, for instance, often helps self-employers start new jobs, since the computer skills are highly evaluated in the society. To sum up, while there are some obvious drawbacks to financial concerns, the self-employed effort brought us many benefits at the same time. They can avoid more stress or pressure from people around them at the workplace. However, they will have to take challenges to learn better financial management skills into an account before starting a new company.