Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, would squander money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your personal experience or knowledge.

There has been a controversial debate about whether governments should use their funds on public services while others bolster artistic entertainment. Both viewpoints significantly impact a country; thus, I would partially conform to this contention. Firstly, artworks have an invaluable effect on many individuals since they can be meaningful and convey one’s feelings. Starry Night, one of Van Gogh’s most famous masterpieces, for instance, can efficiently express impressionism that causes the public to ponder about the past. In addition to being meaningful and abstract, arts are also an efficient way of increasing productivity, which can occur in various ways, from viewing art to listening to an orchestra; according to research conducted by Maryland University, volunteers who listen to Beethoven’s music tend to concentrate more on performing tasks than those who have not. Furthermore, it significantly encourages people to the in-depth field of study such as Com-De or PhD. Conversely, public service can expedite national development through a broader range of infrastructure, more elevated healthcare policy, and better-sophisticated education. Hence, this phenomenon also potentially improves life quality for the future generation. Moreover, it is also capable of upgrading the welfare of many individuals. For example, Switzerland has more promising personal well-being than Italy because the former tends to use its taxes for the public sector, as the latter conserves traditional antique Roman sculptures. To conclude, although focusing the national budget on the public sector is more beneficial, preserving the artistic culture can also be worthwhile. In my perspective, I opine that both of these would still be compulsory for investment.