Governments spend millions of dollars each year on their space programs. Most recently, Mars is the focus of scientists attention. Some people think that this money would be better spent on dealing with problems closer to home.

Nowadays, exploring space is becoming more and more popular among developed countries. They are ready to spend millions of dollars to collect information about stars, planets and galaxies. And another reason, why they are ready to spend a huge amount of money is they are competing with each other, how was it between USA and USSR in past. They wanted to be first in space and on the Moon, but what were the benefits for ordinary people and society? Today, the USA finances huge companies like NASA, Space X and Virgin Galactic to construct and launch rockets and satellites. One of them is developing space tourism, another one is exploring planets like Mars. But, most of the citizens of the USA think, that it is a waste of time and money that does not bring any benefits to society. Meanwhile, the society of the USA has many problems such as unemployment, inflation and poverty. Besides these problems, there are also global problems such as global warming, deforestation, and air pollution. From my point of view, if developed countries would pay attention to the problems of the Earth, instead of exploring Mars, it would bring more benefits than space programs. But why they do not do that if it is very important for people and society? After all, governments should always take care of their people. One of the reasons, why they do not want to do that is solving global problems with pollution and deforestation is not profitable like space programs. And solving these problems would not rise their level of technological development as space programs. Only a few countries can explore space and construct rockets. And each of them wants to be the best best. In conclusion, developed countries will continue financing their space programs instead of solving the problems of the Earth. Because this is the only reason to show another country your technological developments. Although, Earth's problems require less money and time to solve.