Nowadays, people always throw old things away and buy new things, whereas in the past, old things were repaired and used again. What factors cause this phenomenon? What effects does the phenomenon lead do?

These days, it is a normal sight to see individuals who are more willing to pay for a whole new item rather than fixing a slightly defective one. The main two reasons are that people nowadays are much more affluent than before, in addition to consecutive inventions. The inevitable results of this trend are mostly rising waste problems and markable differences between rich and poor. One of the first factors is that the percentage of wealthy men and women has nearly doubled in the last three to four decades, which means citizens of modern societies clearly possess more valuable goods, in comparison to previous generations. Another cause of this is that it encourages companies to be creative with commercials and inventions precisely for their target customers. For instance, highly populated countries like Japan and China are one of the top consumers of the most lavish products such as Prada handbags, whereas young generations make up the majority part I phone users. A possible effect of the problems mentioned above will now, and in the future contribute to faster-growing waste issues on top of already challenged global and climate changes. Moreover, manufacturers mostly focus on top elites with a vicious one-time-use mentality, as companies consecutively make sophisticated and pricy inventories, well aware that almost 80% of the earth´s population is unable to afford their products. Clearly, this shows who belongs to which class. For example, in,India the majority of the citizens live under the poverty line, whereas approximately 5% per cent of the general population is among the world´s richest. In conclusion, the rising waste problem in the modern era is proportional to the growing number of upper-class individuals, who are unlikely to get things fixed or donated. Manufacturers are also motivated by profit, and therefore usually neglect the indigent when developing.