Overeating is a more widespread problem in the world in comparison to hunger. Why overeating is more important than hunger? What can we do to tackle overeating?

While many experts are concerned with the problem of hunger, in reality, overeating is a more widespread issue. This essay will explore the reasons why it is more pressing question to be dealt with and propose a few possible solutions. Health issues and environmental degradation are the main reasons why we argue that the overeating issue deserves more attention than hunger. People, who regularly overeat, are more likely to suffer from health problems, such as chronic heart and stomach diseases. At the same time, excessive food consumption increases demands on the limited natural resources. As an example of this, we could mention crops and meat producers, who convert tropical forests into land suitable for agriculture at increasing rates. There are measures to be taken to combat this problem. Firstly, better education, particularly on the topic of healthy diets, will enable people to consciously buy food that they really need. Secondly, increasing the food quality could potentially decrease the total amount of the food supply needed. For example, fast food, containing high amounts of sugar, is processed by the body fairly quickly and the next portion is required hence increased food consumption. In conclusion, it has been shown that dealing with overeating problem is more important than the problem of hunger due to its negative impact on the environment, as well as, the health of the population. Two possible solutions have been proposed. Better food quality is a way to decrease amount of food needed by society. More education programmes as a measure to help consumers to make informed decisions.