Forests are the lungs of the Earth. Destruction of the world's forests amount to death of the world, we currently know. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many governments and communities are worried about climate change. This winter Korea is abnormally warm. Decades ago, it was not uncommon that people to walk over the frozen Han River which is located at the centre of Seoul. However, it's being impossible to see the frozen rivers in Korea. Many activists condemn companies and governments that don' t try to reduce the emission of CO2. Also, they insist that we should stop harvesting wood for human needs. Everyone has heard of the word, lung of the earth. Forest got the nickname because forests absorb carbon dioxide and emit oxygen. The chemical character of carbon dioxide is to keep temperatures efficiently. Hence, decreasing the amount of carbon dioxide will result in lowering the temperature of the Earth. They can reduce the amount of CO2 existing on the Earth, which results in lowering the average temperature of the Earth. However, some scientists claim that forests don' t contribute to converting carbon dioxide into oxygen. They assert that the emitted oxygen from forests is reused by the woods and plants in the forests. Furthermore, they said that there isn' t enough evidence to prove that the deforestation of the Amazon resulted in increased carbon dioxide levels. After reviewing the two opinions, I concluded that the latter is more scientific and rational. I haven' t seen any counterexamples of the recent research. Therefore, I disagree that the destruction of the world's forests amounts to the death of the world.