Nuclear power is far too dangerous. Therefore, countries should ban its use and concentrate instead in developing alternative sources of energy such as hydroelectric power, and solar energy. Do you agree or disagree. Give reasons for your answers

Some people believe that atomic energy has negative effects and should be replaced with sustainable energy sources. I agree with this idea and,, further in this essay, I will explain my point of view, giving examples. Firstly, it is a known fact that power released from a nuclear reaction produces something called radioactive waste that emits radioactive particles, which if not properly managed, can be a risk to human health and the environment. Although the government regulates the level of waste, it still is a major concern, since at high doses it can cause, for instance, cancerous growths, cardiovascular disease, and skin burns in humans. After the Chornobyl accident, radiation took its toll even on unborn babies, since shortly after the incident, the rate of children born with deformities in Ukraine increased threefold. It can also affect animals and plants, causing genetic damage or mutation. Besides, there are currently ongoing studies about the implications it can cause. Secondly, nuclear source is also more expensive than, for example, hydroelectric and solar power since, per, dollar invested, renewables offer quicker emissions reductions. Furthermore, renewables increase deployment results in lower costs and improved performance, especially for wind farms and solar parks. This contrasts with the experience of nuclear power, for example in France, which has been prone to rise costs or reduced performance with the next generation of technology. In conclusion, I recognize the importance of outplacing nuclear sources with renewables, since it is dangerous for all living beings and costly. Gladly, options are available and the government is taking steps in this direction.