Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Someone agrees that the prices of sugary drinks should be risen to encourage customers to consume less sugar. Personally, I totally disagree with this statement, my opinions will be discussed for the following reasons. To begin with, the increased prices of syrupy refreshments may not discourage customers to drink them less if they have no concerns about the disadvantages of these products. I believe that health education should be taught more to make people have a higher awareness of medical issues. For instance, Diabetic Mellitus (DM) which is caused by high carbohydrate intake, can cause leg amputation, stroke, and heart attack. If they learn that high blood glucose can lead to these life-threatening problems and disabilities, they may continuously control their carbohydrate eating behaviours, and unhealthy sweetened potations may be less consumed eventually. In addition, high costs of living would affect all of the population if the authorities keep increasing the charges for merchandise in order to make citizens purchase fewer sugary drinkable products. I would argue that people should be supported more to ingest food that uses healthier sweet substitutes. A prime example of these alternatives is stevia which is a sweet plant and is free of calories and sugar. While the prices could be remained reasonable, alternative sweeteners could become wise choices for anyone who loves sweetness but prefers to be healthy. In conclusion, everyone should be informed that the consumption of high carbs diet can lead to major diseases. I strongly believe that instead of increasing the prices of sugar-based products, health education and availability of healthy substitute sweeteners should be promoted as imposing priorities which could help people to knowledgeably decrease their sweetened meals.