In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising aims to illustrate the greater aspects of a product to make it appealing to the public. To achieve that, businesses usually launch a marketing campaign claiming that their goods are innovative and fresh in many ways compared to the existing ones. This essay will examine the reasons that lead to this tactic and provide arguments as to why developments like this are beneficial for both businesses and consumers. When launching a new campaign advertisers consider two key factors, namely creativity, and promotion, to build their brand. Being creative is an essential quality that a person should have when trying to target an audience, either in mass marketing or in more specific advertisements. That explains why emphasis is given to presenting a product as new because on this occasion there is nothing you can compare it with, so having a fresh idea is the only way. Furthermore, the purpose of advertising is to be eye-catching and persuasive and studies have proved that consumerism drives people to purchase anything new, from a state-of-the-art piece of equipment to the latest technological device. This is the cause why goods that appear to be different from previous ones are more likely to be sold. Presenting goods as innovative is undoubtedly an advantageous strategy for those who manufacture them because they must try constantly to improve the quality of the products and make them more efficient, appealing, and user-friendly. If the need to become better and better did not exist, nothing would be changed and as a consequence, consumers would have limited options to choose from when making purchases. Although the public should be aware and not just rely on what is claimed in advertisements, because sometimes the developers distort the truth and manipulate the buyers, to achieve higher sales rates. If people are aware and cross-check before purchasing anything, they will benefit no end. In conclusion, promoting products as new is a beneficial strategy that a plethora of businesses follows. This essay discussed the causes along with the benefits of this practice and claims that it is in fact the most effective way for businesses to push their limits and become better.