Immigration has a major impact on the society. What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

Nowadays, the vast majority of people choose to leave their home countries due to multiple reasons. This trend has significantly impacted our society. This essay will explore both causes and impacts of this phenomena. One of the main reasons behind immigration is people fleeing war in search of safety and security. I fact, for many individuals and families who are facing violence and insecurity in their home places, migration to other countries can be seen as the best way to escape from these dangerous conditions. Therefore, since geopolitical tensions have drastically increased over the last few decades, it has led to huge number of refugees entering safer countries. Moreover, many people migrate to other countries in search of a better life. Namely, they could be seeking satisfactory working conditions, access to free healthcare and schooling, higher academic qualifications and standard of living. Hence, every day a significant number of people move from developing countries to more developed and industrialized ones. Immigration carries both positive and negative consequences. On the one hand, it leads to a more multicultural society and helps communities to become more open-minded. In other words, when people from different cultural background come together in one place, they bring them their own customs, traditions and way of life, leading to a more vibrant society with a wide range of prospectives, ideas and experiences. On the other hand, immigration could cause more pressure on public services. In fact, as the population of a country increases, public services risk to become overwhelmed. For instance, it could cause longer waiting lists for medical treatments and overcrowded public transport. In conclusion, looking for better life conditions and safety from wars are two of the main causes behind the increasing immigration, which has both positive and negative aspects for the host countries.