It is beneficial for people to spend some time living in a country where they must speak a foreign language. Do you agree or disagree?

Language is a crucial tool for people for communication. Pupils get a chance to learn a second or even a third language at school besides the native one. These days, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether it is beneficial to live abroad where they must speak a foreign language; in this essay, I will explain why I agree with this statement. To start with, a new environment provides a better quality of studying a foreign language. Many believe that in order to practice speaking skills, an environment is a must. For instance, living in a foreign country, most of the time you will speak the foreign language instead of your native one, so there is an opportunity to advance the speaking skills when talking to foreigners. In addition, a chance for extending listening comprehension is also provided. You get used to locals’ talking speed throughout everyday conversations and it is not the same as listening tasks that are done at school, which might be slowed versions of locals talking. 174 Moreover, the majority of people move abroad owing to work or studies, so in order to increase language skills rapidly, a foreign environment might be the best way for them. (15:46-16:54 poilsis) On top of that, it is important to know the culture of the country you want to study at or work at, especially culturally rich ones. In Asian countries, the common utensils for eating are chopsticks and it is really recommended to know the chopsticks’ etiquette before using them, because not knowing it or behaving inappropriately on the table, your boss will probably have a bad impression about you and it can lead to some issues. In contrast, some others may claim that living abroad is when loneliness appears as your only friend, because they feel separated from home and the native language is often forgotten. However, considering that mother language cannot be easily forgotten and you can travel back home occasionally, I do not think that these concerns are a big deal. Sometimes a new environment allows you to challenge yourself. All in all, I believe that living in a country where we are required to speak a foreign language is a valuable experience; thus I think it is advantageous to spend some time abroad. It leads to proficiency in second language and enculturation, resulting only in benefits.