Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings?

Nowadays, there is a debate discussion about whether a city should maintain its outdated, historical constructions or demolish them and erect new, modern ones in their place. This essay will argue why in my opinion the old buildings must be preserved on the condition that the expenses to maintain them are a little and they are places of great importance. First of all, some antiquated buildings are part of a city’s culture and history, connected inseparably with civilization. For example, plenty of them operated as schools, arsenals, or assembly rooms, and in today’s era, they have transformed into museums and exhibitions. They can be a source of significant knowledge for the public, especially the youth. However, not all of the old constructions were used for an important reason in the past, and numerous are just dilapidated and left in disrepair. Also, it costs a lot of money to preserve them, because they were built with low-quality construction materials and need repairs constantly. On the contrary, those who argue that the old constructions should be replaced with modern, ones that will serve the needs of the inhabitants of an area, are realistic. Nowadays, especially in big cities, there is a massive problem called the housing crisis. People who cannot afford a private residency, live in small rooms and cramped places, in ramshackle residences and dorms. The government should invest in replacing the old buildings and constructing new, ones with basic facilities and commodities, that will help the citizens stop living destitute. Maintaining historical properties which are in bad condition costs a lot more than building necessary accommodations for society. In conclusion, as I illustrated with my arguments above preserving some historic buildings may benefit society, although their conservation is costly. The primary goal of the government of a city should be to secure that the citizens own a residence. So, if it is necessary to demolish old buildings to provide people with the houses they need, then that should happen.