Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's fast-growing world, during, festivals people are more inclined to their own choices of recreation rather than understanding the meaning of the auspicious or traditional festival. I fully agree with this statement and this essay will briefly explore the idea and provide examples. It is often said that people from the past valued traditional or religious festivals with appropriate respect and manners. When the festival times arrived people were ready to welcome it and celebrate it with respect and love. Moreover, parents used to teach their children about the profound meaning of the festivals so that they can learn about the inner meaning of it and adopt it in their lives. People in the past, celebrated festivals in many ways, for example, they went to church, offered prayers, visited the elders or remembered near and dear ones who have gone. However, the trends of celebrating religious festivals have changed a lot among individuals,especially the young generation. Because they are no longer interested in the values and thoughts associated with the festivals which seem somewhat backward to them. I personally agree with this situation because today, for instance, Christmas is not a religious festival with the meaningful arrival of Jesus for the welfare of humanity rather people are enjoying vacations or long weekends from work. They mostly engage them in shopping, throwing parties, and receiving or giving gifts rather than going to church and praying. In conclusion, we can come to the point that, people have forgotten to receive the learnings of festivals and they rather focus it enjoyment and merrymaking. To understand the proper meaning of festivals we need to learn about the messages it carries and obey them.