In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In most parts of the world, rural populations are decreasing as people move to urban areas. This essay will explain why that could be perceived as either positive or negative, depending on one’s perspective. The positive perspective says that urban areas offer better standards of living and allow for better management of populations. When people are concentrated in a single area, that means they can be provided access to food, healthcare, education, and other essential parts of life. Governments can more effectively provide for them and people can find more opportunities whilst participating easily in their nation’s economy. Meanwhile, the countryside can be returned to nature or used for responsible agriculture. With people taking up less space, the environment could be allowed to thrive once again. On the other hand, when people live in the countryside, they have more space and access to a better environment. People living in such areas tend to have better lives because of the clean air, outdoor activities, and proximity to nature. Living in the countryside means people can have gardens and bigger homes, whilst they are father away from pollution, traffic, and noise. The atmosphere tends to be more peaceful and people seem happier in such places, while cities can be unpleasant, oppressive places that stifle human nature and cause mental and physical health problems. In conclusion, there are good arguments for both sides of this debate. Personally, I think that they are more or less balanced. It really depends on whether you believe that humans should pursue personal freedom and health or put the Earth first and live in more easily governable societies.