Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernisation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernisation?

Several old urban settlements are undergoing modernisation. It is argued that this change is inevitable in nature and this has its own merits and demerits of its own. This essay will analyse both sides of the coin. On the one hand, modernisation is a boon for the human civilisation. Since it has introduced new and advanced technology for us. For example, there are many machines available which help us in our dialy life, such as Washing machines, microwaves etc. Furthermore, modernisation has brought better education and health facilities. For instance, the better machines available in the hospitals aids in the better diagnosis. Also, schools have been equipped with smart boards and other tools which improvise the learning. On the other hand, modernisation has also been a curse with regard to culture and buisness businesses. Firstly, due to this, we have lost our cultural value. We have been inclined to western approach of life with modernisation which led to the loss of our own cultural identity. To illustrate,nowadays,we all dress up in a western attire and rarely anyone seen with saree unless it is a occasion. Secondly, the indigenous buisness are also suffering due to the increased trade with modernisation. For instance, we all rely on big international brands like H&M, Levis and hardly sight into our indian brands.  In short, modernisation is coming our way with its own benefits and drawbacks. It is one's conscience to chose to what extent they would like to adopt it.