Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the tactic to handle with lawbreakers. Some hold a strong view that imprisoning perpetrators is the best approach to tackle them. Meanwhile, the opposite makes a statement that schooling and employment coaching will help criminals become a better person. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without the shadow of a doubt, imprisonment should not be considered an obsolete practice. Depending on the severity that perpetrators commit, authorities should take reasonable coping situations into consideration. For instance, misdemeanors like graffiti or shoplifting can be offered a tough fine punishment. On the contrary, felonies which can lead to serious loss of property and life, for example, sexual assault or murdering should be kept in captivity. This can keep safe for law abiding citizens and reduce the percent of reoffend. Hence, giving sentences to everyone who pays no respect to a law system is unnecessary. While the ineffectiveness of sending offenders to prison is widely acknowledged, there are myriad methods to deal with perpetrators, especially providing education and career orientation. While schooling brings right awareness for criminals to understand about their faults, job training will earn them a living and help them become valuable inhabitants. By doing so, they can reintegrate and contribute to society. For example, in Vietnam, there are a wealth of reformatories opened for adolescent lawbreakers which provide them consciousness and employment training to become a future participant in handicraft like sewing or mechanic industry. Therefore, tutoring and career orientation are two main ways to rehabilitate criminals. In conclusion, although imprisonment is an appropriate tactic to handle with some felonies, it is not the best method to apply on a mass scale. Instead, teaching and job coaching are efficient to tackle this problem.