Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives eating up a debate over dealing with lawbreakers. Some claim that imprisonment should be considered the optimal approach, meanwhile, the opposite makes a statement that it is better to rehabilitate offenders via education and job orientation. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, keeping criminals contained is not always the best bending solution. To be specific, the state ought to take great concern about plausible treatments of perpetrators which are heavily reliant on the severity of their crime. Graffiti vandalism, shoplifting, and pickpocketing can be cited as examples of misdemeanors that the governor should consider a fine as an appropriate penalty. However, felonies such as sexual assault, kidnapping, and murder which induce serious loss of property and life should be sentenced to keep safe for law-abiding citizens and prevent them from relapsing. Thus, putting them behind the bars is not the most efficient tactic to cope with criminals. While the inefficiency of imprisonment is widely acknowledged, there are myriads of alternative methods to handle offenders, especially providing education and job orientation. To be more precise, whilst proper awareness about their previous illicit acts is enlightened by education, job training helps them figure out a means of making money. In doing so, they easily reintegrate with the community, contribute and become good citizens of society. For instance, there is a wide range of reformatories in Viet Nam where juveniles participate in vocational courses to become job holders in handicrafts, sewing, and maybe the mechanic industry. Therefore, education and job training can be taken into account as one of the most well-adapted means to rehabilitate lawbreakers. To sum up, although keeping criminals in captivity is rational in some particular circumstances, it is not the best tactic to apply on a mass scale. Instead, education and job training are potent in helping offenders positively change.