For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

In modern-day societies, being able to use a computer is, without a doubt, an essential qualification. For that reason, many argue that having these skills should be the fourth sector of education, along with literacy and numeracy. This essay will provide evidence as to why I agree it is essential to teach young people about technology. Firstly, everyone agrees that traditional education is not existing anymore because technology has developed so much and is more appealing than conventional books. Nowadays, professors rely on devices and online tools to make their lectures up-to-date and more engaging for their audience. Therefore, people should neither ignore the importance of computers nor persist in depriving children of using them. For example, if children know how to use online materials and develop their abilities during their classes, ]it will be more enjoyable for them to do their assignments or participate in the lecture. In addition, if it becomes mandatory for students to attend subjects about information technology from an early age, they will be more capable and competitive in adulthood, either in the job market or while studying in higher education. Some are not fond of technology and have, for instance, aptitude for arts, sports, or a major in a field different than technology, although even they should be able to operate a PC, because technology influences every aspect of life, regardless of a person's occupation. So, it is time for education to become comprehensive and keep up with modern developments by adding computer skills to the list of essential life skills. In conclusion, the importance of computers in the present day is undebatable. This essay illustrated arguments that support the opinion that the qualifications, that a child receives during education, should be expanded and include knowledge about computers.