These days, older people who have retired often choose to spend money on themselves (for example on holidays) rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently, many retired people have been neglecting to save for their children's heritage. Instead, they are consuming things for the sake of their own pleasure such as booking yearly holidays. This essay is going to discuss why the new lifestyle of elderly people is positive for themselves and their kids. Although accumulating material heritage guarantees safety to children, this seems unnecessary these days. The majority of retired people have grown-up children who are already financially self-sufficient. For instance, most children are dependent on their parents ' money for about a 20-years period but they usually become independent, after finishing college and finding a well-paid job. Therefore, older parents do not need to worry about their children's future since they have invested enough in their education, health and well-being in the past. Besides, elderly people deserve to indulge in the fruit of their work after so many years of sacrifices while parenting. Children certainly will be happy to see their parents having pleasant experiences. As an illustration, research shows that children whose elderly parents travel once a year tend to be happier in their personal lives. The more parents invest in themselves, the more satisfied their kids become. In conclusion, the number of older people saving for their will is decreasing. This is a positive sign because children can guarantee their future survival after receiving their parents ' support. In addition, elderly people spending more money on their personal pleasures means happiness to their children since they love their parents.