The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.”

The percentage of child obesity is growing more and more every year. A fact which is absolutely concerning due to all its adverse consequences such as heart disease. The next essay will discuss the reasons and the effects of this problem. Two major reasons can be argued: the introduction of electronic devices in children's growth and the enormous variety of unhealthy food offered. On the one hand, kids are brought up with phones and consoles and they prefer to be sitting on a couch watching the TV instead of playing outside or practising a sport with their friends because it is with what they have grown since they are little. For example, boys and girls now play football with the Playstation and they spend hours watching streaming videos on their computers. Therefore, the actual youth are totally inactive and sedentary. On the other hand, one important fact is the amount of bad food that is offered in supermarkets and restaurants. In general, fast food is more economical than fresh products and, in addition, society presents these meals as delicious so it is easier to give them to children than to obligate them to eat vegetables. For example, a menu in Mcdonald's costs around nine euros and a healthy cooked food maybe 14 euros. Obesity deteriorates life quality and children may suffer health problems and diabetes when they are adults. Their childhood will be totally marked by this disease because it will be more difficult for them to move due to respiratory difficulties and consequently to socialize. When they are older, they will be more likely to suffer from diseases and all its life will influence by this as they will have to avoid new experiences to keep themselves safe. In conclusion, the increase in overweight children is a serious problem which must concern society because it will affect the entire population since it not only makes worst their appearance but also their lifestyle.