The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.”

Obesity is a serious issue which has been increasingly observed in the last decade. Futhermore, this is an alarming problem as more children are seen to be overweight compared to the adults. What are the root causes of obesity and what are the implecations for their future? One of the predominant reasons for children being overweight is their diet intake. In other words, children consuming non-balanced diets which are propotionally proportionately unhealthy is seen to be one of the causes for obesity. Mutiple researches say that over 60% of the children from the west, aged between 5 and 10, are overweight; this may be due to the high intake of carbohydrates, found in fast-food. Futhermore by children on physical activities are seen to be a cause for obesity as well. Today, children are more often seen to be addicted to video games, forcing them to stay indoor, consequently making them gain weight. There are number of reasons why obesity could cause serious ramification for the youngsters. Firstly, obesity will cause a detrimental effect in the future, deteriorating their health. Moreover, overweight is a significant seed for a unhealthy mental well being.