Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

There are many local vendors which are not big enough and cannot beat big supermalls in terms of competition, as a consequence local vendors left the market. Large markets took advantage of less competition as well as posed a big threat to financially sound local communities. Firstly, introducing large markets makes modern busy life easier but on the other hand in market competition supermarkets suppress the local shops. Therefore, different categories of vendors cannot carry their small businesses in the long run. Supermalls are mostly doing business in different areas but their origin is mostly from other parts of the country or world. As a result, those malls are not ethically bound to ameliorate the areas they are doing business. On the other,hand if local vendors can continue then local communities will be benefited in future. As an example, India supports their country brands at most and takes required actions to limit the scope of other supermalls. Another example is in Bangladesh individuals mostly tend to buy from small shops other than pay for large market's products. Local people need to come forward and lend a hand to support their local shops by buying products from them. Secondly, Supermalls create an uncompetitive market which thrives on gaining profit without any big competition. Sometimes the products they offer are costly and keep some limited products they prefer as consumers have no other option than to buy from them. A smooth, economic market needs healthy competition to bring the best quality product and reach out to the customers. For example, in India people stand for their local brand "Thumsup" when " Coca-cola " entered the market. They keep their beliefs high for that reason " Coca-cola " could not become a market giant and create a good market for other local soft drinks as well. To conclude, consumers have to show concern for their brands, shops, products no matter how small those are, otherwise market giants will push away all small competitors and build their own empires.