Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We live in a modern era where equality is being promoted everywhere including in workplaces, society and even families. This is why child-rearing should be a responsibility that is shared by both parents. To begin with, traditional roles of males and females are changing, and in some cases, have gone completely reversed. This is why the predefined responsibilities of mothers and fathers are a thing of the past. Traditionally, a mother takes charge of the everyday activities of bringing up children, whereas a father is responsible for providing the basics for the children as well as the family. With a shifting trend when engineering universities have more female graduates and males have paternal leaves, this is no longer applicable. Rather a father should share those daily activities, spend as much time as possible with the family, play with the children, read to them, take them out or even clean their diapers, whereas capable females should share the financial responsibilities. Moreover, a child needs both parents ' care, love and attention to properly grow up. Research proves that attention from both parents often instils better qualities and emotional balance in them than in children who grow up without the attention of both. The concept of "fatherhood" is not easy to achieve especially in countries where economic and employment situations are stressful. However, a little effort from both parents can ensure a shared responsibility and better family bonds in which children get the proper care. In conclusion, parents in modern times should be ready to share their responsibilities for the greater benefit of the child and their family. This is why fatherhood should be as much important as motherhood.