Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A lot of food and beverages in the market have high amounts of sugar which lead to more diseases in humans. Some say if these products become highly cost, consumers will become fewer. This essay agrees with the above statement completely because of the benefits it brings to health and vast development in the country. By reducing the amount of sugar intake, people can take advantage of a healthy life and grow old without any complications. Most non-communicable ailments like diabetes mellitus occur due to higher consumption of sweets. So, if the government takes the relevant action to increase the tax for these, then more men and women in society cannot afford junk foodstuff due to the level-up of the price. For example, in Sri Lanka, nowadays people do not tend to buy instant meals and drinks because of the big budget they cost. On the other hand, applying taxes for these items facilitates the administration of the state indirectly. Because the major amount of funds that are used to manage above mentioned noncommunicable diseases can be transferred to the development of the country. It will lead to a prosperous nation that can benefit every facility they need. For instance, National Health Ministry in Sri Lanka spent billions of dollars on required health services annually. If we can cut it somehow, it will affect us positively. In conclusion, bread and drink products that have big amounts of sucrose should be priced higher because it will make human beings healthy and aid in developing the state.