Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job traioing are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

Crime is an ongoing problem that affects people of all social and economical backgrounds. Serious offenders should not be sent to imprisonment rather they should be provided with proper education and trained for jobs. I strongly agree with this statement because the government should focus on drug rehabilitation, and educate the families of re-offenders. Drugs and alcohol are the prime issues behind most crimes. In other words, if the government will take offenders off the street then the root cause of the situation will remain unchecked, which is the criminals are not in their senses when they commit such serious offences. New Delhi rape case in 2012, for example, in this case, rapists accepted that they took drugs thus they were unaware of what they have done with the girl. However, poverty reduction can easily fix this issue during childhood. Government should increase the schooling level in high-risk areas. That is to say that, the court of law orders that High school education should be provided to the families and the neighbours of the criminals. As a result, the future generation of those high-risk zones will be educated, therefore, they will become a respected citizen of society. Dharavi slum in Mumbai, for instance, was the reason behind most of the cases in Mumbai during the 90’s decade but the authorities opened numerous schools in their neighbourhood, which result in a drastic reduction in crime. Therefore, the public at large will be benefited due to the reduced crime rate. In conclusion, serious offenders should be sent to drug rehabilitation centres and provided with basic school education rather than putting them behind bars.