More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

In this present time, people drinking sugar-based drinks are becoming widespread. This is a serious issue because this would lead to health problems. This essay will consider the main causes of consuming sugar-based drinks, before proposing two possible solutions. Perhaps the most important cause of drinking sugar-based drinks is it is becoming more affordable,especially to the masses. With few alternatives, many people choose to devour this kind of drink to quench their thirst aside from the less expensive drinking plain water. As a result, people are becoming obese and different health issues are appearing such as diabetes. Another key factor is the appealing taste of these drinks due to the added flavours. The majority of people are choosing these refreshment to quench their thirst rather than the bland taste of water. This means that the needed amount of water for the human body is not achieved, for instance, athletes would rather drink "Energy Drinks " because they would feel revitalised and energized without realizing that they feel thirsty even more. Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions to this problem. First of all, schools and the government could introduce an information campaign. This would educate the children in schools and the public about the harmful effects of drinking sugar-based drinks. For example, schools can include such information in their Science subjects. Secondly, the government can impose a value-added tax on these addictive drinks, which would increase the prices, therefore, it would become difficult to buy for the public. In conclusion, people choosing to drink sugar-based drinks is a serious problem which is primarily caused by their affordable price, along with their appealing taste. I recommend that the government address this issue by education campaigns about its negative effects on health, and imposing of tax to reduce the proportion of the majority that can afford to buy these drinks.