Governments spend an enormous amount of money on renovations of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money can be better spent on building new houses and developing roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is often argued by the people that spending goverment expenditure on preserving traditional buildings is seen as a way of squandering money of tax payers, and needs to be spent on providing amenities to the citzen citizens of this country. Although, I agree that it is equlally important to look after the old buildings as it is a heritage and pride of our scoiety. I do not think that spending on visuaI art is waste of moeny and I will support my opinion with relevant example. On the one hand, spending a siginifacnt amount of the goverment budget on public sevice like looking after the better education, building a new residance, and making rodas Rodas, which determinethe quality of life that most of our people will have. For example, studies have consistently reveals that country with higher level of literacy is more developed as compared to those who allocate no money to education. Therfore, it is apparent that spending on public services is a worthwhile investment for the goverment. Simultaneously, it is equally important to preserve the historical antiques and monuments builded by our ancesstors. Moreover, this old buildings are playing an important role to atract the tourists towards our country, and it is an aternative way to support our goverment in terms of exhanging a foreign currency. In the end, people will uderstand the importance of spending on histroric items as they have might at first assume. For example, by adding monuments or sculptures at public places will help to remind citizen about the pride of our country. So even if construting sculpture is not an essential service but there are clear benifits of funding them. To sum up, although there are clear benifits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services, I do not believe spending money on the arts is a waste of moeny as this also provides important benifits. In the future, goverments government should consider budgeting for both.