It is better to learn the way people lived in the past through films and video records than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there are plenty of ways to understand history. A group of people claim that written documents are more valuable resources to learn history, the opponents of this view, however, argue that films and video documents are more reliable. In this paradox, I agree with the former view as written documents like letters, journals, and books are more reliable to understand past life. Learning about past people from a trustworthy resource like handwritten document is pivotal to getting uncorrupt information, whereas films are corrupted for getting noticed. The prime reason is that written documents are reliable to understand their culture, tradition, sense of fashion, and language. To explicate further, one can easily understand how people used to communicate and what type of letters or alphabets are used to write in past. Apart from this, one can learn the old fashion and type of clothes were used in the past. To cite an example, Popei city, archaeologists found this city in the early 19th century and found many ancient writings on clay pots and on the walls of their buildings. From this discovery, archaeologists understood their tradition, culture, and fashion. The above-mentioned city was destroyed by a huge volcanic eruption in Rome. Furthermore, there is another pertinent reason for choosing handwritten documents because most of them are written by ancient people as letters, journals,stories, and diaries. By this I mean, from these kinds of trustworthy resources can explain the lifestyle of past people such as their farming methods, food resources, and way of earning income. On top of this, one can understand their beliefs and misbelieves. For instance, Egyptian pyramids, are unique monuments with a lot of written documents on the wall and dry papyrus leaves. Archaeologists have understood their culture, tradition, and beliefs from this. Moreover, one can understand past mistakes in written documents to avoid the same mistakes at present. In conclusion, it is stated that written documents are more reliable resources than films or documentaries as filmed resources are manipulated or corrupted for getting positive ratings. I believed that written documents like letters, diaries and journals are more valuable to learn uncorrupted information about the past. Apart from this, it is a kind of gift for future generations to understand the same.