Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this increasingly competitive society, more and more young people are against each other to enrol in the hall, which is considered a symbol of success in the study stage. However, some claim that universities should merely accept students with flying colours academic results, while others believe that every student should be provided with equal opportunities to access tertiary education. I will discuss both sides and outline my personal opinion in the essay below. Firstly, high school students with higher marks are far more deserving to enter institutes instead of dumb students who are always slow on the uptake and cannot get the head or tail of what the teachers are explaining. This is because students having good memory, logical thinking and management skills should be fostered and study intensively in their aptitude fields, resulting in talented citizens who will contribute to the development of the national economy as well as scientific achievements in the future. Secondly, by offering academic education to solely a limited figure of students, professors and tutors can easily evaluate the student’s level of ability and skills during the teaching process, resulting in high-quality graduates. For example, the National University of Medical, one of the most prestigious halls in Vietnam, only admit the top scorers in the national university entrance exam in order to make sure that all recruiters are well-qualified and able to deal with a huge amount of specialized knowledge. On the other hand, these requirements might have some negative long-term effects on society and individuals. If universities accept students based only on high grades and age, there might be not enough professionals in the future. If few students are admitted to the courses, in the end, it is likely that just a few of them will fully complete their courses, which might be a problem in society. Moreover, these standards might create disappointment in some students as they might feel left behind. Some students are still having potential and talent without good grades and the right age. If they are rejected by these universities, their dreams and the personal project might fade. In conclusion, there is no doubt that high grades and age might guarantee some good outcomes for universities and society. However, nowadays, there are a lot of students seeking a place in universities.To me, It would not be fair to just be based on these two requirements when admitting students into superior studies.