The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Earlier, in 1888 the first car appeared on British roads.After a few years, there were around 29 million vehicles on British roads. Different forms of transport should be used to travel and laws should be established to limit car ownership and use. I strongly agree that, an alternative form of transportation should be used to mitigate distance. First of all, as the number of car owners is increasing, the amount of pollution is also increasing da-by-day.The main reason for pollution is the generation of carbon dioxide produced by vehicles.I believe that, rather than using multiple cars for travelling one should use transportation like a bus where many people can ride at once. Thus, reducing the emission of gasses into the environment.The government should imply rules and regulations that restrict people from buying more than 2 cars in a house.Government should decrease the ticket amount for public transport so that, people travel more by buses and trains. For instance, In India travelling by bus is way cheaper than booking a cab for the same distance.That's why an alternative form of transport should be used to reduce pollution. Secondly, I believe that people should prefer walking or cycling to short distances rather than taking cars. This would help the surrounding and protect nature from harmful gasses. For example, there is a part of Portblair named Radha Nagar which doesn't allow any kind of vehicles.If you need to travel there, the only source of transportation is walking.The initiative was taken by the government of Portblair to keep the surrounding unpolluted. Hence, covering short distances by walking would help nature to rejuvenate. Also, awareness camps should be held by the authorized committee. In conclusion, I strongly adhere to using alternative forms of transport for travelling. Using busses for long distances and walking or cycling for short distances should be encouraged