Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Human advancement is driven by competition among humans. It could lead to a positive or negative effect to individuals where the former could teach entity about survival and the latter might produce a gap between insignificant and significant figures. It is fact that humans' instinct has navigated revolution from ancient period when they have to fight against wild animals to modern era when they have to compete against corporations. As a result of those competitions that have nurtured for over thousands decade, Homo Sapiens have created a lot of state of the art technologies which make individuals prolong their age. One thing worth mentioning is an innovation in medical field that it could save a million of lives. Back then, It was impossible to avoid black death, a bubonic plague pandemic in 14th century, but the modern technology can cure the illness with just an injection. Problem arises when individuals try to fight over them self to hike a pyramid hierarchy. Even though hierarchy is just an imagination of where the winner resides, it could lead to a country separation due to civil wars. For example, The Netherlands colonized Dutch Indische, a name of Indonesia back in 17th century, to monopolize spices trade in the region and to win European market with cheap and high quality goods. Realizing that Indonesia was just merely a slave, the country noble figures started a liberation and fought with a million of warriors. A two and a half century war killed those innocent lives just to regain power. In conclusion, the battling might be beneficial for human to get a better living. On the other hand, it might drive a million of people killed.