Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, professionals suggested that learning a foreign language at a young age is better than in old age. I believe that having bilingual ability early in life is more beneficial because it helps develop memory capability and reduces dementia later in life. Firstly, studying new dialects early will boost the child’s retentive memory by opening up more neural pathways in the brain. Furthermore, bilingual children are usually more intelligent than their colleagues in school and they can easily multitask and develop other abilities that are crucial to their future. In addition, recent studies carried out by the NHS supported the idea of acquiring a new language early in life to improve brain functions as well as in the treatment of speech disorders in adolescence. While growing up I had a nine years old neighbour that stutters when he talks in his native tongue however, this subsided after he started learning mandarin. Lastly, studying a new dialect will improve teenagers’ knowledge about a dying culture. Some cultures are going extinct because people have abandoned them. Although it revives the culture, it can also create better job opportunities later in life. At a time my uncle a medical doctor relocated to the United Kingdom, he was able to procure a job faster than his peers because he was very proficient in the French language. Hospitals that were recruiting doctors at the time were seeking French-speaking doctors. In conclusion, studying foreign speech is essential for brain development and this can also improve the CV for better job placement.