It is thought by some that a school teacher's role is to motivate and inspire students. However, other people believe that a teacher's primary role is to pass on knowledge. What do you think is a role of a teacher?

In recent years, there had been a controversy about the role of teachers among school children. Some argue that it mainly to pass on knowledge and others are of the opinion that its involved motivation and inspiration as well. However, I think that depending on the context and situation, they can play both roles. To begin with, our Modern schools curriculum today are developed in a way that can help in the development stage of a child and not just for education. For example,a juvenile attending a school will be exposed to different social activities, bad friends and media, some of this can corrupt the mind set of the child, when the teacher noticed the dropped in performance and change in behavior of this child, they can advised the child or invite a counselor so as to work on the changes and this serve as insipiration to the child. In addition, most of our parents today are busy chasing money and don't have time for their kids and therefore put their children in a boarding school. In this case, the children are left to learn 70-80% about life from their new environment, friends and teachers because they are left to be fully dependent on them. The tutors will have behave in a certain way, where by the students can learn from it. For instance, their dressing, time conscious, way of teaching, dialect and accent, achievements and ranks, in one way or the order, all these has an impact in the life of their students because they watch them daily and some of teachers becomes their role model-someone they wished to be like in future. This, they also play a major role in motivating and inspiring the kids. In summary, the major roles of tutors is to teach and impact knowledge but it goes beyond that because the kids watch them daily basis and learn alot from not only wat they teach but also their behaviors. In order words, they motivate and inspire as well as passes information to the juveniles.