Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is ? what measures can governments take to discorage people from using their cars?

The economy has been growing all over the world since the second part of the twenty century. Nowadays it is normal to have one or even more cars in the family. However, it is agreed that due to increased numbers of vehicles our cities are moving toward a huge traffic jam collapse. Which is why the possible actions from the governments about such circumstance will be discussed in this essay. Currently it is usual to spend two and more hours in a traffic jam per day for the modern world megapolis inhabitant. For example, New-York city residents stuck there around twelve days per year, which influence to the economy growth of the area. Moreover, such number of cars creates the ecological problems for the metapolicies as well. Thereby the traffic congestion becomes one of the most important issue that ought to be solved by governments official in each big city. The measures for solving such difficulties could be separated in two directions – restrictive and incentive. For instance, Singapore could be taken as a great example of prohibitive actions which were taken by the officials. In this city the car usage is restricted for few days only during the week. On the other hand, the incentive measures are directed to discourage people from using their vehicles. Public transport development is a very good way to reduce number of private cars. To summarize I want to say that either restrictive and incentive actions should be implemented by governments to achieve results. Although prohibitive measures such an additional taxes for cars owners, increased parking price, and so on, are more effective in a short period, the encourage actions ought to be made as well.