IELTS Writing Practice. One of the major problems that face today’s governments is creating enough satisfactory houses for their increasing populations whilst still trying to protect the environment. Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

These days the population is growing at a fast pace, and governments need to resolve a critical problem which is building adequate housing that doesn't harm the environment. I completely agree with that statement as I firmly believe that governments do not have sufficient budget to build new houses and are incapable of dealing with the increasing number of natural disasters that affect our cities. Building appropriate places of residence that align with our environment is a significant challenge, and today's governments still haven't been able to tackle it. This is because their budget is limited, and their small amount is usually designated for other purposes. An excellent example of this is the city of Miami which cannot afford to build apartments for those citizens whose houses have been affected by Hurricane Katrina. In addition, governments cannot find a solution for many people who have lost their accommodation because of natural disasters such as storms or floods. This is due to the significant increase in the number of disasters that happen each year. In Florida, for instance, more than ten hurricanes hit the city in 2022, which has shocked many scientists since the number used to be lower than two. There is no doubt that this poses a severe problem for governments. To conclude, today's governments face obstacles such as providing their citizens with adequate apartments while putting effort into saving the environment. They haven't been successful due to various reasons such as insufficient budget and the growing number of natural disasters.