Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Human beings nowadays are heavily dependent on processed foods and beverages as they are quick, easy to cook and come within budget. All such products contain extensive sugar, which is hazardous to our health. I totally agree that people will cut down the consumption of these products if they will cost more than their regular prices. The upcoming paragraphs will highlight my point of view on this. To begin with, there has been a drastic increase in the number of a few diseases due to the consumption of such products. The most common of them are diabetes, obesity and cardiac diseases. In spite, of various trials from medical facilities, this number is not reversing back. Moreover, they are now more common in the younger generation, which is a serious concern for both government and medical staff. To cite an example, I would mention my own brother who suffered from high blood pressure last year in the age of his mid-twenties only. Furthermore, a hike in their prices will discourage people from buying these as they will go beyond their reach. Additionally, within the same budget, they can shift to other things which will be healthier. Government should impose extra taxes and duties on them to make them go beyond their budget and compel them to look for alternatives. For example, we can choose from a wide variety of seasonal fruits and another balanced diet like lentils and vegetables without hitting our pockets. To conclude, we can say that because of the inclusion of these foods and drinks, we are putting our lives in danger knowingly. To demotivate our society from buying them, the government need to impose extra duties leading towards higher prices of such items.