Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Recent years have raised the importance of having an efficient work -life balance, the key part of which is ensuring sufficient time is spent on free time activities outside work. However, paradoxically, numbers of those who dedicate time to their hobbies have experienced a considerable downward trend, especially in the 21st century. This essay will discuss the reasons for the issue and its impact on society and individuals. To start with, the current century has brought significant changes to our lifestyles. The cost of living has doubled because of Covid, the tense political context, including ongoing international conflicts, and the economic crisis, which has all affected our real income. Consequently, we were forced to commit more time to work to become able to earn more and cover significantly increased expenses. This, in its turn, has affected our work -life balance, reducing the time we spent on anything or anyone outside work. Unfortunately, this trend has led to several other issues. One evident consequence of the fact that individuals spend less time on their hobbies is the surged number of problems that we all experience. Not having the opportunity to have some personal time enjoying doing different physical or mental activities, such as for example, sports and games, drawing, gardening, hiking, or going to places of interest, raises the levels of stress, and does not allow us to unwind after work and leads to more serious health complications, such as depression, weakened immune system, and alleviated anxiety. Furthermore, free time activities can add a sense of fulfilment and joy to your life. They can help create social connections, for example, while doing sports or playing games together; also, they may help you discover new things about yourself, develop new skills and develop as a person. However, if we do not have something we do for pure enjoyment, our daily life can become very mundane and tiresome and decrease not only our levels of happiness, but also will affect our overall mental and physical productivity. To conclude, this essay has discussed that the main reason why more people allocate less time on free time activities is the demanding environment which forces us to work more to support ourselves. Also, it highlighted the importance of hobbies on our mental health.