It is inevitable that as technology develops so traditional culture must be lost. Technology and tradition are incompartiable - you can not have both together. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology, it is often assumed that soon there will be no room for culture or traditions in our lives. But it seems to me that this belief is completely wrong and it is just a biased opinion of older generation which struggles with adapting to new trends. Truly, industrial progress has changed the way we do things but it does not necessarily lead to abandoning tradition. One cannot deny the fact that most developments were originally designed to ease manual labour and enable people to have some spare time for more enjoyable stuff. Who would miss the conventional Ukrainian method of washing laundry with a wooden stick called “ pralnyk ” and some ash while bending over a stream or kneeling on the bank of a river? Surely, it was a pointless activity and the invention of a washing machine was a blessing, however, it did not make us forget about our culture or traditions as those are mainly predicated on positive emotional ground and that will never be replaced by any state-of-the-art devices. No matter how often someone would repeat that technology interferes with the usual way of life, it would not make it true. Since the bygone era people have been creating different objects, whether they were clothes or kitchenware, to identify themselves as a part of a particular community. Thus, embroidery, sewing or knitting did not disappear, but completely the opposite trend could be noticed as making crafts is thought to be fashionable. Though there are appliances which could be used, people still prefer conventional hand-made process. Singing and dancing are other examples of cultural aspects which will not be substituted by technology. To conclude, although there are those who claim that technological process interferes with customs, one should not forget that some traditions will be kept as they are enjoyable.