Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In tandem with the rapid development of the digital era, the importance of subjects taught at schools is always a controversial topic. While some people suppose that Science and Technology are more essential than History, I firmly believe that all of these subjects are necessary and deserve attention from pupils. On the one hand, advocates of the idea that History is one of the most essential subjects have some key rationales. First and foremost, learning history provides pupils with a thorough process of development of the world in general and each nation in particular. As a result, pupils can definitely understand and appreciate what they have nowadays, which also leads to the national pride of young people from an early age. Also, this can help children have more incentives and motivation to learn and dedicate their efforts to the development of their nations. Moreover, teaching history is considered to be a good method of transferring cultural values to the youth. Specifically, because the development of society always aligns with culture in each phase, understanding history means that children can know about their traditions and the underlying root of culture. This can apparently lead young individuals to protect it and continue to teach to the next generations. On the other hand, some others, who support the viewpoint that Science and Technology are more vital than History at schools, also base on some rational reasons. To begin with, these two subjects can provide children with important knowledge related to nature. For instance, young people can know how things create chemical reactions through Chemistry, or know how to solve math problems through math. There is no doubt that all of these are important and applied in many parts of daily life, so it seems to be irreplaceable wisdom. Furthermore, Science and Technology are considered to be vital leverage for the development of all society. To be more specific, the demand for technology or information labour has been increasing more and more, which leads to the viewpoint that learning technology is the most important. All of the aforementioned reasons can partly demonstrate the importance of science and technology. Personally, I agree with the importance of science and technology, but I still believe that history plays an essential role in education. Therefore, History, Science and Technology all contribute to the comprehensive development of young people. All things considered, the fact that history, science and technology are all essential and supportive becomes rational.